Samek Music

A Collection of Romantic Solos by Ottorino Respighi/Strevens -Volume 2

A Collection of Romantic Solos by Ottorino Respighi/Strevens -Volume 2


A few words from transcriber Marilyn Strevens 

Ottorino Respighi (9 July 1879 – 18 April 1936) was an Italian composer, violinist, teacher, and musicologist who was one of the leading Italian composers of the early twentieth century. Among his best known and most performed works are his three symphonic poems, Fountains of Rome, Pines of Rome, and Roman Festivals.

Born and raised in Bologna, Respighi studied violin, viola, and composition at the Liceo Musicale di Bologna. In 1899 he received a Diploma In violin and a year later he accepted the position of principal violist in the orchestra of the Russian Imperial Theatre in St Petersburg. There he met Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov and went on to study composition and orchestration with him over the course of five months. His “Prelude, Chorale and Fugue for orchestra”, written under Rimsky-Korsakov’s guidance, was first performed as one of Respighi’s final examination pieces in June 1901. This was a great success and Respighi received his diploma in composition.

Respighi returned to Russia in the winter of 1902 for more performances and more tuition from Rimsky-Korsakov. From 1903 to 1908 his local reputation as a composer grew, although his principal occupation was first violinist in the Mugellini Quintet, a touring five piece group founded by the composer Bruno Mugellini.

This collection of solos was composed for violin and piano between 1901 – 1905, and published in 1906. They are in the romantic style and would probably have been played in soirees or perhaps for an encore in the concert hall. These pieces have been re-edited to give new exposure to these beautiful, romantic and contrasting solos, making a glorious addition to the clarinet repertoire as recital, exam or concert pieces.

Volume 2 – Berceuse, Melodia, Leggenda, Valse Carassante, Serenata, Aria

Click on the button below to order a printed copy from the June Emerson website, or click on ADD TO CART to  buy an instantly downloadable PDF version.

Order printed copy


Scoring: Bb clarinet with piano

Standard: advanced (grades 7-8)
Length: 2- 3 minutes each piece


Additional information

Download options

Full score & Set of parts (pdf), Full score (pdf), Set of parts (pdf)

You may also like…

Samek Music

Samek Music