Samek Music

Sonata in F major by Willem de Fesch/Strevens for Soprano or Tenor saxophone

Sonata in F major by Willem de Fesch/Strevens for Soprano or Tenor saxophone


Select ADD TO CART Above to buy a downloadable PDF version OR

Click on the June Emerson button below to order a printed copy 

June Emerson: Sop/Ten Saxophone & Piano Parts


A few words from Marilyn Strevens 

Willem de Fesch (Circa 1695–1758), born in Alkmaar towards the end of the 17th century was one of the most important and influential baroque composers of the Netherlands, bringing the Italian concerto style to the Low Countries. The influences upon De Fesch’s music were apparent. Melodic lines were influenced by the Italians, particularly Vivaldi. During the Baroque period (roughly 1600–1750) the word ‘sonata’ was used quite loosely meaning a piece to be ‘played’ rather than ‘sung’. ‘Sonata’ was generally applied to small instrumental works. There was no set form or number of movements.

This Sonata in F major was originally written for cello and keyboard, and also exists as a piece for violin and keyboard in the key of G major so it works well at different levels of pitch. The four movements commence with a Preludio, slow and sustained which leads into an Allamanda. The first three crotchets in the Allamanda are detached and accented to achieve an effect similar to that of double stopping and the music is very much influenced by the capabilities of the violin or cello. The third movement is a slow, stately Sarabanda in the relative minor and the final movement a minuet in F major followed by a trio in F minor.

Scoring: soprano or tenor saxophone and piano. (Alternatively can be played on Bb clarinet)
Standard: grade 8+
Length: 10 minutes


Additional information

Download options

Full score & Set of parts (pdf), Full score (pdf), Set of parts (pdf)

Samek Music

Samek Music