Samek Music

Five Dance Impressions – Keith Ramon Cole

Five Dance Impressions – Keith Ramon Cole


Keith Ramon Cole

A few words of introduction from Malcolm McMillan

This suite of five dance-like movements by Keith Ramon Cole called “Five Dance Impressions” is for an ensemble of clarinets consisting of an Eb, three Bbs and one each of Eb alto, Bb bass and Bb contrabass. It is to be performed by seven players of at least Grade 6 standard (Eb and bass clarinets higher!). The pieces work best performed by a semi-circle of musicians with a conductor - with the possibility of allowing a dancer or two to perform in front. The five pieces presented here are a very colourful collection of dances utilising dream-like textures to create an impressionistic canvas of moods that dance can stimulate. They all started life as separate compositions for clarinet/bass clarinet and piano specially written for me by my friend Keith over a period of thirty years.

The present suite was arranged by me for my local clarinet choir and has given us all much pleasure. The five movements are entitled: Caliban Dances Naked. Eloisa - Tango. City Life. Day After Day & Night After Night. Mambo-Macattack



      Malcolm McMillan - a very personal introduction



Eb clarinet, 3 Bb clarinets, alto clarinet, bass clarinet, contrabass clarinet

10 minutes

This is a download product delivered in high quality PDF format.

Additional information

Download options

Full score (pdf), Set of parts (pdf)