Samek Music

Sonata Macabre – Rob Keeley

Sonata Macabre – Rob Keeley


Click on the June Emerson buttons below to order a printed copy or click on ADD TO CART to  buy a downloadable PDF version.

June Emerson: Bass Clarinet and String Quartet (including score)

SKU: CSCP019 Categories: , ,

A few words from Rob Keeley:

There are surprisingly few chamber works featuring the bass clarinet, and I wrote this concentrated single movement 10 minute piece at Victoria Samek’s request: it is also dedicated to her. A majestic ‘French overture’ opening is followed by faster ‘spectral’ music, the various interlocking sessions culminating in a rather nasty Scherzo loosely based on the ‘Dies Irae’ motif.

I have recently been inspired to compose a large number of works for clarinets in various combinations, largely as a result of his extremely happy and fruitful collaboration with Victoria Samek. Being influenced as much by music of the past as much as the present, above all in re-thinking classical forms and procedures in modern terms, I am happier composing for relatively small-scale forces and in more modest durations. Mozart, Poulenc and Stravinsky, Tippett, Berio and Messiaen, Haydn and Donatoni are all major inspirations: music as entertainment on many levels, the aim to balance clarity and complexity, wit and expressivity, the pleasures of both surprise and of the expected.

Scoring: Bass Clarinet and String Quartet
Standard: Advanced                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                               Length: Approx 10 .05

Victoria presents – working with Rob Keeley


This is a download product delivered in high quality PDF format.

Parts include: Score, bass clarinet, violin 1 & 2, viola, violincello  


Additional information

Select a download option

, , , , ,

Samek Music

Samek Music